Skip to main content

The Galenus Foundation

The Galenus Foundation, which has its headquarters in Vienna, Austria, was founded in 2004 to support young researchers (postgraduates, assistant professors, etc.) in the field of pharmaceutical technology and bio-pharmacy. The board of the foundation comprises three members who are aided by a Scientific Advisor:

  • Dr Cornelia Désirée Sonntag (Chair),
  • Dr Romana Mayrl-Buchner,
  • Notary Dr Alexander Michalek,
  • Prof.em.Dr. Christel Müller-Goymann (Scientific Advisor).

A critical aspect of the foundation’s work is its financial awards, such as the Galenus Supports and the Galenus Technology Prize.

The Galenus Support is an annual award of €500 given to young researchers for:

  • Travel expenses,
  • Access to academic literature,
  • Laboratory equipment,
  • Opportunities to formally present research activities.

The foundation believes that innovation is of paramount importance for scientific development. Bi-annually, the foundation acknowledges and rewards those who display exceptional innovative thought with the Galenus Technology Prize. The award is worth €5,000.

Previous winners of the Galenus Technology Prize include:

  • Dr Martin Bultmann (2005),
  • Dr Stephan Reichl (2007),
  • Dr Carsten Rudolph (2007),
  • Dr Jörg Tessmar (2009),
  • Dr Regina Scherliess (2011),
  • Dr Eva Roblegg (2013),
  • Assoc Prof Dr Olivia Merkel (2015),
  • Dr Gregor Fuhrmann (2017),
  • Assoc Prof Dr Peter Wich (2017),
  • Dr Ulrich Lächelt (2019),
  • Dr Philipp Uhl (2021),
  • Dr Claudia Martins (2023),
  • Dr Sarah Neugebauer (2023).

During the last decade and in addition to its awards, the Galenus Foundation has not only held a number of International Workshops but financed a series of Galenus Guest Professorships in Europe and at major institutions across North America: at Wayne State University (Detroit 2014), the University of Florida (Gainesville 2014), Harvard University (Boston 2016), the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Cambridge 2016), Stanford University (Palo Alto 2018), University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (2022) and University of Texas at Austin (2023). The next Galenus Guest Professorships at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and the ETH Zurich are scheduled for 2024.